Arts is important form of expression for individual and culture of society. should children be taught arts in school in your opinion. is it important for children to focus on arts rather than other subjects

Arts is a creative way of expressing oneself. It forms a significant part of society by depicting its culture. I believe it is extremely important for children to learn arts as it helps them in describing their inner feelings or emotions and also to develop fine motor and social skills. However, I do not think that children should be allowed to direct their attention to arts alone instead of other academic subjects.

Arts for children is not only entertaining but also a way of expressing themselves. Sometimes young students may not be able to describe what they feel through words or actions but may be able to draw or paint their emotions, whether happy, sad or worried. In this way they may be able to communicate their thoughts to the adults, which is i feel an essential social skill. In addition to this, children learn fine motor skills while drawing delicate details or handling scissors and paint brushes. This improves their hand eye coordination which is a useful skill and if carried into adult life is helpful in performing jobs like construction, engineering and also surgeries. Hence, arts is essential for developing a child's social and physical skills.

Despite these advantages, I feel that arts should be an additional/optional subject for students specially after primary education. This is because many children may not be motivated to carry on with these classes due to increasing pressures from other academically challenging subjects such as maths or science. As children are inclined to make a career by performing well in these subjects they may not want to distract themselves with subjects such as arts which has a comparatively low professional success ratio. Therefore, only students who are passionate about pursuing arts as a career should be allowed to continue this subject in high school.

In conclusion, although I am of the opinion that young children should be taught arts to develop their creative ideas, communication and motor skills, only students wishing to make arts as a profession should focus on this subject rather than other subjects.