Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, with more than half the world's population living in cities, the problem of housing development in urban areas has become more crucial than ever. The authorities of cities around the world now have two main options to tackle this issue: either by building more skyscrapers on the existing urban areas, or by expanding the land size of urban areas and build more houses on the new land. In this essay, I will compare the pros and cons of both of these solutions before giving my own opinion on which one is the better choice.

On the one hand, in terms of cost, it seems clear to me that between the two proposed solutions, the former has more advantages over the latter. In other words, I believe that building taller apartment blocks could save all of us more money than the alternative, which is expanding the land use of the city. Firstly, by having taller skyscrapers, all the major buildings can be closer to one another. That means that everyone can easily walk or cycle to work or to school, instead of having to drive for hours by cars to get from the suburbs to the city center to work every day. This can save a lot of time and money for the urban dwellers.

Secondly, the authorities of the cities can also save a considerable amount of money if they choose the first option. This is also because the first solutions allows more people to live closer to one another, which means the cities' governments do not have to spend massive amount of money acquiring new land, which can be very expensive. It also means that there is no need to build new infrastructure such as roads, bridges, electric cables and lightings, which must be done if the city expands in land use.

On the other hand, when the matters of time and safety are taken into consideration, it is my belief that the second solution may be superior to the the first. To put it another way, it could be argued that by building more private houses over a larger areas, it is actually quicker and safer than building new, taller apartment blocks. The reason for this lie in the fact that it requires a lot of time to build a single skyscraper, whereas we can build many small private houses at the same time and, therefore, finish much more quickly. On top of that, in case of emergency, such as fires, earthquakes, hurricanes or other types of natural disasters, the high-rise skyscrapers could potentially be much more dangerous for its inhabitants than smaller houses. For example, during an earthquake, those who live on the high floors of a skyscrapers can feel much more vibration than those living in a house nearer to the ground. Another example is the fact that in the case of fires, elevators could be shut down and the stairs could be inaccessible because of the fires and the smoke, making it it very difficult to escape to safety if one is stranded on the top floors of a high-rise building.

In conclusion, as discussed above, I am of the opinion that both of the proposed solutions are advantageous in some regards, and disadvantageous in others. Therefore, my own view is that neither of them is completely better than the other, and that cities around the world must consider them carefully before deciding on which way they should follow.