In some cities the government has tired to reduced traffic for instance they impose a congestion tax during rush hours Do you think this development is positive and negative

It is irrefutable that traffic congestion is a growing concern in many parts of the world.

To mitigate this issue authorities have been put numerous steps like congestion tax. I personally think that it has more benefits than drawbacks.

To begin with, the major advantage of imposing rules and tex is reduction in private vehicles. It has been seen that, where these laws are implemented the number of private motor vehicles fell and more and more people prefer to go to public transport. For instance, the survey conducted by Chandigarh university showed that, in India, because of these tax every year 15% commuters go public transportation. Moreover, because of less traffic, roads and automatically looked wider and it is also leads less pollution on atmosphere.

Furthermore, government can use the money collected from such taxes. And they can use it on any sector, where it needed, government can use this money on improving public transport and make it comfortable and frequent. Then the number of commuters will definitely increase. For instance, in India, authorities spend 40% of tex money on public transportation. Finally, if these taxes are enforced then number of accidents might be decreased, as nearly 60% of accidents happened because of traffic jams.

In conclusion, there are server benefits of enforcing tax and rules on traffic congestion as government would receive tax money from public and this money they can use in another areas. Apart from this, it will also decrease in number of private vehicles on the road.