Bicycle is the most healthy and cheap vehicle for travelling, especially in highly populated countries like India and China. Unfortunately, these countries not using the advantage of this humble vehicle. This essay asses the possible reasons for this attitude and suggest some relevant solutions as well.

To begin with, the first and foremost reason for this problem is congested roads and traffic jam. The increasing number of vehicles cause traffic jam and roads are not expanded to accommodate soaring vehicles. In this scenario, bicycling is a risky job in these nations as there is not enough space in the roads. Another important problem is unavailability of separate tracks for bicycles. Bicycles are too tiny and fragile comparing to other big vehicles on the road thus, bicycle riders are not ready to risk their lives by running along with heavy vehicles . For example, in India many bicycle riders lost their lives in the accidents with heavy vehicles. Finally, the physical effort in running bicycles, people became lazy and used with sedentary life styles. Most of them using private care for commuting . By using private cars instead of bicycles they can reach the office suddenly and freshly.

However, there are some possible solutions for the above mentioned problems. Constructing wider roads will solve the problem of traffic jam and road congestion to a certain level beside that, the number of vehicles on the road also need to be regulated by taxing heavily on private cars. This will encourage the use of bicycles. Secondly, governments have to take initiative in building separate tracks for cycles. Separate bicycle tracks will help to reduce the fear in bicycle riders. Finally, seminars should conduct by the hospitals for explaining the healthy side of bicycle riding. In Australia, for instance, bicycle became common vehicle after the health ministry conducted seminars on it.

To conclude, although there is some problems with encouraging bicycle usage , we can easily solve it with the above mentioned remedies.