Recently, an increasing number of people express their concern about the phenomenon that they are gaining weight easily and become less healthy. In my opinion, this effect is mostly due to their modern unbalanced diet and lack of exercise.

With technology advancement, individuals are pursuing convenience in everything, especially food. After the introduction of fast food, burgers and microwaved meal boxes for instance, they tend to purchase these type of products which are relatively simpler to consume. These do not require any intricate seasoning or cooking process, not to mention the cleansing afterward. Indeed, most of the instant processed food products tasted more delicious than cooked meal. Many of them, however, contain high content of calories, fat, sugar and other preservatives with little nutritional value. Consequently, consuming too much instant meal are more likely to suffer from health problems like heart disease, obesity and hypertension, which could affect our health seriously.

Another main factor leading to certain problem is that modern people is usually lack of exercise. Growing older, the metabolic rate of human body will drop gradually. It means without exercise, the food taken might be harder to removed from the body. As a result, individuals will gain extra weight sooner than they thought. This is also a possible explanation of why obesity is usually found on aged patients.

An effective method to cope with this is to exercise adequately, at least thirty minutes per day. Not only keeping our heart and blood vessels healthy, but increased amount of exercise could also help us to lose weight through sweating. For example, instead of driving, go to work by riding bicycle, or get off the buses or train few stations earlier then walk could be an option. Other than enough exercise, people should pay more effort to balance their diet by adding more vegetables, fewer meat works well enough. It is believed that doing such could control our weight and keep us healthy effectively.