It is a fact that in some countries, the average weight of the citizens is shooting up while their fitness and health conditions are worsening. In my view, this is mainly because of the food habits and modern lifestyle they follow. In this essay, I will examine these two factors and then propose a viable solution.

One of the foremost reasons for obesity is the consumption of unhealthy foods. Many people started to follow western food habits and eventually ended up eating high-fat content foods like pizza and burgers. Regular consumption of these fat-rich foods will increase a person’s weight in a short span of time.

In addition to that, nowadays, more and more people are living a sedentary lifestyle. They do not dedicate any time to do any kind of physical activity. As a result, they lose their resistance power. If this lifestyle continues then people will fall ill more frequently and lose their health permanently.

It is necessary that the government takes steps to open many sports complexes and fitness studios near residential communities. Most of the people who do not want to travel far to go to a sports center will be ready to use one if it is available nearby. In a study conducted by a popular newspaper, 90% of the respondents said that they are willing to use the gym or any physical activity centers if they are within a 3 kilometer radius.

To conclude, encouraging people to do more physical activities will not only improve their fitness and overall health but also help people to shed weight.