In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to show them ?

In this modern world, the rate of people suffered overweight state is rising remarkably and that is accompanied by lower health quality. There are some reasons related to this issue, but many possible measures can be used to prevent it

The increase in people’s weight has a vital connection with the considerable change of lifestyle. Firstly, the constant development of equipment has made life more comfortable and convenient than ever before. Robots are gradually replacing human’s role in not only important but also trivial activities. Regardless of whether people are in the office or at home, they just sit in a fixed place, control everything through computers or smartphones and move around by cars, motorbikes,…All of these examples illustrate human’s sedentary lifestyle. Furthermore, the overconsumption of fast food and the decline in the amount of time to sleep are fostered due to the rapid pace of life and pressure from workloads or study.

There are several measures that could be taken to tackle the problems described above. First of all, the government and companies should join hands to build an active environment. Policies such as declining the cost of bus tickets, increasing taxes on cars, motorbikes,.. must be implemented to enhance people to use public transports, bicycles or go on foot. For example, free bikes are provided for citizens’ movement everywhere on the streets in the Netherlands. Another good example is that Google builds the working setting integrated with sports, entertainment facilities,..to foster staff’s exercise and physical relaxation. In addition, it is of great importance to raise people’s awareness of a suitable lifestyle. The knowledge of how to have a healthy diet and balance between work and rest should be popularized to everyone to avoid diseases like obesity, heart attack,..putting people’s health in danger.

In conclusion, there are many reasons behind the upward trend in people’s weight and the above-mentioned solutions deserve further consideration.