In some countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that it is the responsibility of governments to solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the national authorities might be responsible for dealing with children’s obesity issues. I completely disagree with this view.

There are three main reasons why it is not responsibility of governments to cope with these problem mentioned above. Firstly, the federal budget should be spent on things such as state pensions, debt interest and public services (education, health care, military, public transport and so on). Thus, it would be an unnecessary burden on governments in terms of solving obesity among children, especially when countries have a budget deficit. Secondly, they might raise taxes, but it would be difficult to calculate the correct amount of tax increase for those families which have children with overweight and unhealthy. Finally, if political leaders pay public finance for this issue, it might be not equal in society because this case rarely happens in poor families.

On the other hand, I believe that the main reason why children suffer from weight problems lies on how their parents take care of them. Parents nowadays spend less time on their children than before. They provide technology equipments such as smart phone, laptop for their children whenever they are busy or they do not have time to look after them. For instance, in Vietnam several mothers allow their children to use smart phone whole day, so they can do a host of household chores since they do both alone. In addition, the lack of doing exercise is also the reason. As I mentioned above, children tend to exposure to technology gadgets rather than play sports such as soccer, badminton, swimming and so on. So I think that parents should encourage their children to play lots of sports to lose weight.

In conclusion, it seems to me that parents have responsibility of dealing with their children’s weight and health, and I also do not believe that governments have to do anything for this issue.