In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

In many parts of the world today, there is a growing tendency of people suffering from health issues due to the excessive consumption of fast food. Some people hold the view that government should impose a higher tax on such kind of food in order to force people to think twice before buying fast food. I am of the opinion that this measure will not significantly help the situation and imparting about the health problems associated with this sort of food and even prohibit eateries from producing fast food are two better ways to improve this issue.

First of all, I would argue that imposing tax on fast food may turn out to have negligible impact on its consumption rate. Higher tax would probably affect the poor and middle class people as they do not have adequate money to spend on fast food which consists of no nutritional value. They might have to cook themselves proper meals, which may seem to be inconvenient at first but in the long term may have a positive impact on their health. Nevertheless, this is not the case with affluent people. Due to the good looking appearance, delicious taste and the convenience that fast food offers, they would not hesitate to spend a larger amount of money on such kind of food.

There are a number of measures that would be able to tackle the health problems arising out of fast food consumption. The first way is imparting about the health issues, such as obesity, diabetes, which people may have a high chance to suffer by eating junk food. Knowing about the severity when consuming this kind of food, people would be more careful to choose a healthier and more balanced way to eat in order to protect them and their family. Another possible measure is for government and authorities to prohibit this kind of food to be produced because of the fact that fast food is likely to consist of toxic ingredients that may exert negative effect on people’s health. Ajinomoto, for example, which is a substance found in fast food to make it more flavorful, is considered to be a slow poison and it can even cause cancer.

From what has been discussed above, I believe that imposing greater tariff on fast food is not an effective way to halt people from consuming this sort of food and educating people about health problems relating to fast food or even banning them are two better measures.