In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many nations in the world are facing the problem of people suffering from health troubles because of consuming too much fast food. Governments are suggested to impose high tax on this production of food to prevent people from being unhealthy. This essay will discuss both views of the issue and reach to a solution.

On the one hand, charging higher tax on fast food could be burdensome for people such as students. Living in a fast-paced world makes them have no other alternative. Many people do not have enough time to prepare their own meals and have to rely on those fast and cheap restaurants. So if the food is charged a higher price, people still have no choice but to buy them willingly. Thus, this solution is not effective as it doesn’t make any difference. Moreover, imposing higher tax cannot change the consumers’ awareness of this kind of food. Many people are already informed about the threat to their health brought by binge eating but they still continue buying it due to the convenience and affordable price.

On the other hand, imposing higher tax on fast food chain restaurants could be a good idea as long as it goes along with reducing the tax on healthy food such as vegetables or meat, or the money should be used for the improvement of medical facilities. This will both help the residents to have a nutritious diet as well as a good care for their health. This is how governments should deal with the problem of their people’s health.

To sum up, that governments imposing high tax on certain kinds of food to prevent people eating them could be a great way if it comes with other improvements, or else it will be a burden to many people and doesn’t create a better situation.