In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Eating fast food becomes the biggest concern especially in developed countries because this malnutrition food can cause several health issues. Due to this issue, some people claim that the taxation would be the ultimate measure to solve this. The higher tax rates on fast foods can reduce the fast food consumption however this will be a short run achievement, because there are other reasons for people to eat fast foods (convenient, stimulus tastes and availability). Therefore, I completely disagree with this solution and I believe that the government should find an alternative solution to tackle this solution.

There is a growing rate of people who consume junk foods in developed countries and this causes massive health issues including heart failure and various cancers. In Australia, the survey had announced that 99% of people have had consumed junk foods in 2014 and among those, about 60% have answered as they relied their daily meals on fast foods. This proportion is increasing every year and predicted to be reaching at 95% by 2020. If this is the case, the country would be suffered from sickness, and it is necessary to find the desperate measure to put a halt to junk food consumption.

Imposing taxation can be seen as one of measure to be used to restrict people’s unhealthy diet. If the government imposes a higher tax on fast foods, people will stop eating fast foods, because the price will be higher. If the price for fast foods is similar to those of other restaurant foods’ price, then people would no longer choose the fast foods. Also, if this repetitive choice will become a habit of people and they can consume healthier foods. Therefore, people can maintain their health diets by eating non-junk foods.

However, the taxation can be used for a short term goal especially when it uses for the fast foods, because there are various reasons for people to consume fast foods such as convenient, stimulus tastes and easy access and the price is just one of those reasons. In the UK, for instance, had been introduced the junk food tax in 2013 and within a month, which proposal had cancelled due to the stability with fast food consumption rates. It is apparent that, the price on fast food does not matter for people and thus, the government should find the alternative way to reduce fast food consumptions.

In conclusion, the increasing unhealthy eating habits are current raising issues in developed countries, because it related to the health issues. The junk food tax seems to be the ultimate solution to tackle this issue, but it is not realistically practical, because there are several reasons for people to intake fast foods. Therefore, the government should look for the other measures to control people’s eating habits.