In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In certain countries, people are facing too many health issues due to excessive consumption of fast food. Some people are of the view that to bring this in control the government needs to increase the tax on such food items. However, I completely disagree with this view as I believe raising awareness about the importance of healthy eating and banning hazardous food items are better ways to address these health-related concerns.

To begin with, I reckon that increasing the tax on fast food will have only a marginal effect on its consumption. On the one hand, it is undoubtedly that fast food is the main cause of various serious health problems, such as obesity and diabetes. Therefore, higher tax is believed to raise the prices of fast food, which may change people's feeding behavior to reducing their consumption. However, this also increases the burden on middle-class people. In most countries, about 65% of the population consists of the middle class and if the state imposes higher taxes on any food items, they will be the most affected lot. Moreover, the taxes will not discourage affluent consumers from buying fast food. Therefore, raising tax on this kind of food might not be the answer to the issue.

Personally, I believe that educating people and restricting access to unhealthy food are more feasible and effective solutions. Firstly, many people are ignorant about the ill effects of consuming too much fast food on their health. Therefore, if citizens are more concerned and know how to have a healthier diet, they will probably adjust their meals more properly, especially families with kids. Besides, local authorities should cut access to unhealthy foods, as these potentially may have more of an impact on reducing obesity than increasing access to healthy foods. One example is restricting access to sugar-sweetened beverages and snacks in after-school community programs in which local authorities can ban or remove any stores selling these kinds of food items around the school campuses.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that educational approaches and stricter restrictions should be considered rather than imposing tax since it will not help much in solving the health issues.