In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In some countries it is forbidden to reject job applications because of applicants ages. Even though some peole think that companies have right to reject any application without stating any reason, goverenments force employers to give equal opportunities to every applicant. I think this have some positive and negative effects.

In some jobs like construction and heavy industrial jobs, a worker should be phsysically fit to complete the assaignement given to him, so companies try to increase their chances of reaching the correct person by prohibiting applications of older people. Also it becomes more and more harder to get along with developing technology by age so that education is becoming a great expense for some employers. Because of these factors most of industry leading airline companies have maximum age limits for pilots and cabin crew.

On the other hand there are also a lot of companies belive that great experience comes with older ages. Those companies instead of prohibiting applications of older people they even state minimum age limits for applicants in their job openings. This kind of companies are mostly does experience oriented jobs like television programming or film making. They prefer experience of older people over young people’s fresh ideas.

So that every employer have different requirementes. While some of them are looking for physically fit and powerfull workers some of them just look for experienced brains to generate innoviative ideas. Because of this situation I think that restricting rejection of job applications just because of applicants ages is a negative developement.