In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, numerous people prefer to stay alone all by themselves instead of living with family than in the past. Some people believe the phenomenon is a drawback trend. In my opinion, I believe that this is a positive development.

On the one hand, people will be faced with the rising cost. It is because people have to pay all consumption cost by themselves without other people’s supports. For example, my friend decided to live alone so she has to pay all her renting fees, consumption costs and various kinds of fees to live in Ho Chi Minh City. Moreover, living alone increase the risk of health mental problem for young people. Because adult has to solve many problems in daily life, such as: relationship with college, promotion path, earning money. Therefore, they need some prestigious people to share feeling and give some advices. As I mentioned above, my friend lived by herself alone in the not-so-distant-past. When she had some problems, she had no one to help her know the right things to do. So she realized that having a roommate will make her happier and decrease the monthly living cost.

On the other hand, staying alone can bring a lot of benefits for people as they can enjoy their lives without other reference. It is because young people can have an initiative in the daily life without taking into account roommate. In the US, young people constantly stay alone to reduce parent’s control. Furthermore, from an economic perspective, staying alone creates the greater demand for housing. Because adult needs hiring an apartment or buying a house when they move out from home. Therefore, the real estate investors need to construct more houses to meet the need. Take Shanghai as an example, so many people moved to the city finding an occupation. So to satisfy the demand, many buildings were built in the city.

In conclusion, in my view, there are more positive elements than negative, as there are clear benefits to individual who live alone. However, living with friends or families helps people save living cost and have someone to enjoy the life with.