In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think a positive or negative development.

It is true that living independently is becoming rapidly prevalent in present-day society. Although there are some perks of this trend, I ponder it to be a drawbacks development overall.

The main benefit of this phenomenon is that some people who opt to live alone may become more independent than those who live with their families. It has demonstrated that they could cook, clean, or manage time and money by themself. Furthermore, people can look after others from the experience of self. All of which are valuable life skills. Therefore, an increase in the number of individuals can be seen as a positive development.

Despite the benefits mentioned above, I assess that is a negative trend for various reasons. The first one is that people live apart from family members feeling loneliness, stress, and worries. This is because people have to take responsibility for the standard of living, education, and health without support from families as in previous days. In addition, from the financial point of view, as more people live independently, more money has to be spent on the cost of living, such as house rent, daily food, and shopping. This leads to high pressure on people if they cannot pay their bills, their quality of life will be decreased. For instance, nowadays, a lot of students have been working a part-time job with a salary almost equal to house rent.

In conclusion, while I recognize the advantages of this development, I believe that the disadvantages are more significant.