In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out the history of the building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

It is true that the number of people start doing research on the origin of their accommodation as a leisure activity has rapidly increased recently. I personally believe there are two main reasons for this trend.

First of all, mankind nowadays tends to look back on history. They are curious about how creatures were formed, how life was at that period of time. They want to acknowledge themselves with information about every aspect of the past. Construction is now a trending topic. People want to know how buildings were constructed when there were barely any modern facilities. Secondly, during COVID-19, many people seem to have more free time. It would be boring to just lay in bed and do nothing. Discovering the history of their accommodation which is one of the most familiar things would be a favourable choice. There may be myths or mysterious stories behind and it would be an amazing feeling to find them out.

In terms of doing research about the origin of the building, there is plenty of ways. The sources can be from an article in newspaper, a chapter in a book in the library or from a website on the Internet. Another method is to speak to old people in the neighborhood, especially those who had lived in the building for a long time.

In conclusion. curiosity and the call for knowledge would be the most suitable motivation for this trend. People can use various methods to pursue this interest and to satisfy them with the results.