In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for some people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In the tireless quest for improved standards of life, humankind has always prioritized accommodation. Some cultures idealize house ownership over rental, the driving forces of which will be discussed in this essay before a personal standpoint is put forward.

Owning a house firstly offers tremendous tangible benefits. A homeowner is entitled to the freedom of customizing their living space to their interests. As the whole process is under the owner’s control, from interior design to furniture purchase, the dwelling can be aesthetically and architecturally compatible with their preferences. This brings more satisfaction than living in the fixed space of a leased apartment. Additionally, housing costs are relatively consistent when having a house. While tenants have to deal with potential rent increase and exaggerated water and electricity price imposed by landlords, homeowners’ cost remains stable with a monthly mortgage payment.

In parallel with such tangible merits, private-house owners also reap the intangible benefits of their possession. From the cultural perspective, house ownership is traditionally ascribed to stability. Approaching a certain age, homeownership is a critical criterion for a man to be considered fully mature. In Vietnam, where such an ideology is prevalent, having a house, along with buying a car and getting married, is regarded as a major milestone in a man’s life.

Attractive as the concept of homeownership seems, however, ramifications of this trend shall not be overlooked. The aforementioned attribution of possessing a dwelling to a sense of security is a detrimental social construct, which pressurizes young adults into taking out a mortgage without the ability to pay it off. This is further exacerbated by the skyrocketing real estate values and the struggle to make ends meet, especially in metropolises. Consequently, both physical and mental well-being of the house possessor is undermined.

To conclude, despite the considerable advantages that owning a home brings about compared to renting one, a person needs to be financially and emotionally prepared to possess such a property. The absence of thorough considerations may result in unbearable burdens for homeowners, especially young ones.