In some countries, people are possible to have a wide variety of foods have been transported all over the world. To what extent the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks.

Most of the countries currently experience the trend of globalization and food is definitely a part of the globalization. While some people concern that the globalization of food would bring some negative effects to their countries, I believe that its benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

Admittedly, after importing food from other countries, local food industries would meet a huge challenge from foreign companies and they might consequently lose much profit. However, in my opinion, I believe that the globalization of food would not defeat the local business, but would boost the performance of our industry. This is because that it brings many challenges, which would stimulate local industries to concentrate on how to defeat enemies from other places. Some of these food companies and agriculture industries can survive and offer better products to customers. Furthermore, they might be able to export their products to other countries and make more profits. In the end, not only the public would enjoy a better quality of food but also some companies would earn more money.

Some people also concern about the food quality from these importing countries. They do not believe that governments are professional enough to protect their public from those unhealthy or poisonous food products, but I strongly believe that these concerns actually would motivate authorities to conduct better-checking tasks, which were not seen as an important business. In other words, these concerns would make sure that those authorities would receive more funds and so be able to invest more in checking the food quality. It might help them to discover more problems, which existed but were not being found out before. Taking my country as an example, after our food market was globalized, more people regarded the food quality as a significant issue and therefore, our government built up a team focusing on tackling this issue. This team finally created many regulations on food commodities and solved many food problems, most of which are from local industries.

To sum up, I believe that those two concerns about imported food can be solvable and they would help governments and local industries to be more professional and the public would consequently enjoy better food in their own countries.