In some countries people spend long hours at work Why does this happen and it is positive or negative development

In this day and age, the working class population has gravitated towards doing overtime at work with a view to added payment and promotion. Form my perspective, this trend is likely to bring about more adverse impacts on employees than some of its benefits. The above essay will illustrate several reasons behind the issue and account for why its drawbacks outweigh.

To begin with, there are two main justifications for the extension of working hours. Initially, the first one is obviously the desire of higher income. In fact, in recent years the escalating cost of living has made life increasingly difficult for people from lower classes, the salary of whom barely suffices to afford basic necessities. For instance, the living expense monthly of a nuclear family in Hanoi is approximately 35.58 million VND, apart from the rental cost. Therefore, workers have to do everything in their powers to maintain a decent standard of living for whole family. Besides, another factor is to climb a career ladder in offices. Generally, regular work hours is not enough for employees to finish their tasks and achieve the best efficiency that is extremely essential to get the job advancement. If people do not have a tendency to spend extra hours at work, they can not satisfy the demands for working performance in such a competitive labour market. From that, overtime seems inevitable for workers who is ambitious and competent.

However, to some extents, working too much is able to disadvantageous. The most significant is the damage to workers’ health. In case they often undergo an overdose of work, they will have lack of time to rest and take proper care of themselves. As a result, they can suffer from both physical and mental diseases such as tiredness, sleeplessness or stress and even depression. According to a survey, each year, in Japan, there are about 20000 work- realted moralities including stroke and suicide, which is really alarming about the overtime situation. Furthermore, extra hours at work may lead to the work-life imbalance. It is a fact that working parents usually have too little time for famliy, especially for their children. This can affect the youth development negatively because children are not looked after and educated properly. Importantly, the lack of family quality time is capable of worsening the family relationship and lessening the communication and trust among family members.

In conclusion, two of fundamental reasons for staying longer at work are remuneration and burden of working improvemnet. If the problems keeps increasing, employees will face with some troubles in blending well with their job and daily life.