In some countries people spend long hours at work Why does this happen and it is positive or negative development

Occupation is placed a significant emphasis in the society. In some parts of the world, extending the working hours is becoming more prevalent. There are several reasons behind this trend.From my perspective, although it brings a handful of merits, I believe that its negative effects are proved to outweigh and I will show them in my essay. There are two main reasons which lead to the extension of working hours among people. The first reason is that people want to earn more money. It is undeniable that money plays an integral role these days , especially when we are living in a greedy little world. The much higher cost of living puts a financial burden on employees, especially the breadwinners to make ends meet. Not only their basic needs for food, clothing but also the desire to eat well, wear luxurious-branded clothes. Henceforth ,people have to work extra hours in order to improve living standards. Secondly,some people want to improve job prospects or to get promotion. In a cut-throat labor market like today where people must compete with others to land a decent job and climb on career ladder even though they can suffer from mass workload which is difficult meet the deadline and be unable to finished if people do not extend their working hours.Despite the benefits that this trend may bring to people, I believe it is negative due to two major reasons.Working extended hours triggers a lot of detrimental health effects.People who work long shifts can not have enough time to rest . For that reason they are easily prone to physical diseases relating to the back, neck, eyes and even heart and mental problems such as stress, depression. Inadequate health results in more sick days, poor work performance, and low productivity. Besides people can not get a work-life balance. The employees are always swamped with work which prevent them from taking frequent family trips or even just eating meals together. As a result, the family relationship is deteriorated step -by-step.

In conclusion, extending working hours is motivated by a variety of factors, including financial constraints and improved job prospects. This trend should be significantly reduced because long working hours are harmful to workers' health and families