In some countries, people waste a lot of food which is bought in shops and restaurants. What do you think are the reasons ? What are the consequences ?

In today’s world, many believe that people are squandering large amounts of food. There are myriad catalysts behind this trend, and I maintain that throwing away food items has innumerable demerits.

People have various reasons to scrape the plate into the garbage, one of which is the drop in food price. Factories and farms produce food items in bulk while reducing the quality of the final products with additional chemicals to increase its shelf life, which would in turn lower the money consumers have to pay for each item. Therefore, they would throw out food without being filled with any remorse. It is explicitly obvious that advertisements could also encourage buyers to make impulse purchases with appealing campaigns such as sale off or extra accompanied items. People who go to the food outlets would be attracted to irresistible offers and do not long to miss the good deals which in fact are unnecessary.

As leftovers are being wasted in the trash can, various problems could be anticipated, one noteworthy consequence is a massive amount of money would be squandered. The estimated expenditures channelled into uneaten food could be billions of dollars per year since the food industry grew rapidly and those foods often end up in disposal areas. Additionally, throwing out food could pose a threat to the global food distribution. More specifically, if some regions discard more food, the others will have less items delivered due to the fact that factories would dispense a larger number of food items to regions in which food is massively thrown away. This is simply because in these places, food consumption is relatively high since lots of food ends up in the bin and the residents are in high demand for food items.

In sum, there are numerous reasons why food is being wasted everyday and I would contend that the enormous amount of plates which are scraped into the trash could create various problems to the general welfare