In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, the increasing preference for large out-of-town stores has troubled small-town-center shops’ business. Consequently, people who do not possess personal vehicles find it challenging to access out-of-town stores, while an escalation in the use of cars is also observed. Personally, I disagree with the idea that the drawbacks of this development overshadow its benefits

Regarding the positive aspects, the change brings about two major benefits, including improving goods’ production and enhancing economic activities. First, large out-of-town stores always generate a greater number of sales as they possess a wider range of products, which adds convenience to customers’ experience. Consequently, when these stores dominate the market, their sales grow even higher, which boosts the production of goods. Furthermore, the economy would be greatly benefited as people shop more, while the national production also escalates

Despite the mentioned benefits, this development also possesses a side of detrimental consequences related to the environment. When in-town stores die out, people without cars may encounter enormous obstacles when they shop for products, leading to the universal phenomenon that they must rely on shipping services. The increase in shipping activities directly surges the amount of carbon footprint for each purchased product. Besides, as people must use cars more for their shopping activities, the amount of greenhouse emissions would rocket even more steeply, greatly endangering the environment

To conclude, I believe that the shortcomings of this development are enormous compared to its benefits. As the environment has suffered enough, having more carbon emissions is unbearable and could cause irriversible consequences. Besides, the development of the economy created by the expansion of out-of-town businesses is only short-term as in-town businesses start to die out