There arises a tendency that people living in city centres driving out to seek large shops in the outskirts, instead of small stores situated where they live. Although this trend seems to bear a few merits, I suppose that it may result in more disadvantageous effects.

On the one hand, the shift from small shops in metropolises to larger ones in suburban areas of the people has several undeniable advantages. First, customers can be benefited since they gain access to a wider range of choices and even presumably the higher quality of items in larger shops. Moreover, provided that overhead costs to operate a shopping address is probably to be lower in the outer than that in the inner centre, buyers may have to pay less for particular goods. Secondly, as the demand for driving out of the centre increases, it appears that more work would be created in fields related to car. Taxi drivers, car manufacturers or even car insurance companies, for example, are all in the frame. In another word, the knock-on effect of this trend is the thriving of many other individuals and enterprises.

On the other hand, profoundly adverse effects resulted from that shift are worth being taken into account. Driving a further distance to suburban stores, customers have to expend more time to transport and more money for car fuel, which are the compensation of the lower prices of goods sold there. Furthermore, those who favour outer-town shops may be put under higher potential risks of traffic accidents. More importantly, an increase in the use of car, a private vehicle which nowadays still largely depend on fossil fuel, certainly raise the level of greenhouse gas. In consequence, the air becomes more polluted and therefore, deteriorating the environmental crisis.

In conclusion, while I accept that driving to the suburb stores may provide buyers and other entities with some advantages, I would argue that the drawbacks eclipse those merits.