In some countries, students while studying lived away from home.

Do you think the advantage outweigh disadvantage?

Some university undergraduate lived away from home during the course of their study. It is agreed that the advantage of this outweighs the disadvantage. Firstly, this essay will discuss the advantage such as independency and evaluate the disadvantage of lack of sense of family support.

To begin, the main advantage of living away from family is independence. The student learned basic life skills such as time management and management of finances, which are the major abilities needed by a person. For example, in a recent survey conducted by the UK government, most of the respondents have favorable responses because being independent leads to a successful life. If the students are not given the opportunity to live away from their family, they will not learn and will not succeed in life. It is clear that being alone and away from family will be beneficial in later adult life.

However, the major disadvantage of studying away from home is a lack of family support. Even the presence of advanced technology platforms such as the Skype or Viber is not enough to fill their sense of belongingness. Students at a young age are vulnerable to such emotional feeling of homesickness and loneliness. For instance, a study from the Central University of Queensland claimed that most of the students living in a hall of residence have a low or failing grades in college. This is because they do not have their family to support them physically.

In conclusion, although there are disadvantages such as homesickness, the advantage of independence is more significant. This essay supports that advantage outweighs disadvantage. It is predicted that more student will be studying away from home.