In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In many cultures, young adolescents are motivated to visit many far-flung corners in the world as well as engage in some occupations before enrolling in higher education. Although this phenomenon contains both pros and cons, I strongly believe that there would be much more benefits gained through these experiences

On the one hand, taking a gap year is a really good idea since it does not only give the young people more opportunities to expand their mind but also help them to choose their most suitable job. In fact, since they have to live and adapt to a whole new culture, they progressively become independent, develop more soft skills and have deeper insights into many aspects of life. In addition, these people are going through the threshold of their life, which is deciding their major and future career, so taking a year off to encounter a new environment is really practical as it can equip them with a host of hands-on experiences as well as give them more information related to different jobs. As a result, it provides them with more precise looks into each occupation and helps them realize what they truly want to do

On the other hand, this activity can take its toll on these people as a vast majority of them are inexperienced and immature, entailing many situations messed up by them. Specifically, practical knowledge known by young people nowadays is limited since they have been catered so well by their parents. Therefore, it is problematic when they have to encounter life issues, for example, some people do not even know how to wash their own clothes as they always have that done by a washing machine, therefore, when they move to a new area that lacks this equipment they will totally find themselves in trouble. Moreover, because of the same reasons, people who just graduated from high school can be potential preys of many cybercriminals and other crimes

To conclude, it is really fascinating to while away for a year before taking university studies. Although this decision can bring some shortcomings due to the inexperience of young adolescents, I still endorse the idea that they should take this chance as it is really valuable and practical for their future path