In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In several nations youth are supported to operate or to have trips in a gap year between high school graduation and university programs. In this essay, both benefits and drawbacks are discussed.

On the one hand, taking a year out can bring about some positive impacts. To begin with, enriching life experiences is the first advantage. In other words, youngsters are able to hone practical skills and cultivate relevant job skills in that gap year, which enables them to be provided more employment opportunities. For instance, my neighbor's son who took a yearlong break now that he is one of the most experienced students in his class. In addition, it also helps children reduce negative thoughts and feelings. During their gap year, they are capable of making new friends, visiting many places that makes them feel relaxed and revived. Take my friend Hoan for example, he was under a lot of pressure owing to his mom's expectation and studying, after a year out, he is getting happier and more comfortable. Hence, taking a break from studies gives us a chance to broaden our knowledge and divert our mind.

On the other hand, delaying tertiary education for one year is doubted to cause several downsides. Firstly, losing academic momentum is dangerous. To be more specific, the education process will be disrupted, which may make teenagers forget the things they have learnt and it is extremely difficult to re-adapt to an academic environment. This may lead to stress and boredom outweighing their motivations. Moreover, it is not wise to risk wasting a lot of valuable time. In more detail, many adolescents deferring higher education do not have a clear and suitable plan. For example, some delayers only watch series on Netflix, do not use the time sensibly, then when they start university studies, they all fall behind other friends, put up with intense study schedules and this even leads to depression. Thus, many students eventually lose their interest in studies.

To sum up, "every coin has two sides", it is true about taking a year off which has both pros and cons, as well. It is therefore very crucial that one evaluates all the options and makes an informed decision.