In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is common that youngsters take a gap year before they commence tertiary education. That twelve month-period is used usually to work or travel abroad. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this statement.

On the one hand, one of the disadvantages is that the habit of studying can be broken. This means that young people who have been studying since primary school until they complete High education, they have developed the skills as well as the habit needed as students. As a consequence of the decision of not starting university studies straight away, a high percentage of students fall behind with courses. Moreover, some of them even have regretted the idea of taking a one-year break between secondary and tertiary studies. To illustrate this fact with an example, a recent study conducted by the University of Bristol showed that over a half of students who had been working or travelling the year before starting university studies, they ended up quitting their courses.

On the other hand, young people who decide either working or travelling that year are probable to become more open-minded and mature compared to others with the same age. In other words, the opportunity of meeting new people and cultures allow students to gain new perspectives and views in relation to their future goals. As a result, those who decide to keep studying, they feel sure about the steps they want to follow. For example, it is very frequent that students change the subject of their courses once they return from the twelve month-period breaks.

Takin all the above into consideration, this well-known gap year among students may cause some disadvantages such as breaking the habit of studying, but it can also help students to grow up personally and professionally