In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving such a message to children?

If children work hard enough, they can possibly achieve things, that they are passionate about. This is how children are advised in some cultures around the world. Parents intend to guide their offsprings in a progressive way, inorder to bring the best of their children, while many don’t consider the string attached to it. This essay aims to address both positives and negatives of this parental advice given to children, with supportive examples and arguments.

On the one hand, despite the differences among cultures, some of them have similar ideology in teaching their children. There are multitude of advantages, when parents encourage their child’s passion, by providing moral support and advice to work harder. For instance, children will develop self-confidence, dedication, perseverance, smart work and hard work will develop their ability to withstand any stressful situations. As this helps them to work on pursuing their passion, and eventually they have higher chances of achieving what they dreamed about. In addition they will find new pathways to succeed in their life.

Conversely, young children can easily take advantage of this situation. While some others may dream about goals that are practically unachievable, however they work really hard and end up hurting themselves physically and mentally. Moreover, some people don’t actually know the possible consequences of what they are hoping to achieve. Example of this scenario can be seen in the life of Kalpana chawla - an American Indian astronomer, who made every women proud by creating new platform and setting new limits. However, at the end, she met a horrible accident while returning back to earth. The space craft she travelled burst into flames while entering the atmosphere. Thus, such situations are quoted as extreme examples on what might happen if one chaces their dream

To conclude, parents and progressive thinkers in a society has to be appreciated for creating a sense of self-importance and confidence among the young children of the society. Eventhough it has been highly beneficial for the majority, it is important to shed light on the possible drawbacks of such teachings in the life of their children.