In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything they want if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Each community, governed by its own cultural pattern, will adopt a specific way to educate its future generations. In some cultures, children are often encouraged to try their best so they can achieve their desired goals. Like a coin with heads and tails, this message exhibits both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, this message benefits younger generations in numerous ways. This has been convincingly proven via this lesson that motivates children to become proactive when they deal with difficulties in their journey of pursuing passions. The very first benefit of the message lies in the way/how it helps children improve their capabilities. In particular, almost all successful baseball players spend more than 10,000 hours practicing with extreme focus and persistent effort to strengthen their performance in both defense and offense to fulfill their potential. Additionally, youngsters are inspired to keep striving for their goals when they are hit hard. Indeed, Thomas Edison, the inventor of the electric light bulb, devoted constant effort to testing thousands and thousands of experiments in order to find the proper materials for the light bulb. Moreover, the lesson boosts learners' results in their school environment. Evidently, students who work diligently are more likely to complete such challenging tasks as individual and teamwork assignments, thereby achieving high-quality academic outcomes. Apparently, this message not only fosters children to try their best but also helps them become their better versions.

On the other hand, young people believing in the message will encounter certain difficulties. This has been observed through the influence of the message on children's mental health when they make mistakes and experience disappointing outcomes. To start with, hard-working children might be under enormous pressure to live up to the high expectations of their loved ones and themselves. For example, Asian children, who regularly stay up late for long-haul study sessions for even a small exam, might endure mental and physical feelings of stress and anxiety. Moreover, youngsters may require themselves to work beyond their capabilities, which is harmful to them. For instance, various athletes often participate in sports despite their injuries, which could lead to permanent damage to their health along with their careers. Accordingly, constant deliberate practice toward desired goals and objectives will cause mental illnesses that overload the ability to function well in youngsters, thus, they should be taught to engage more in extracurricular activities and ways of relaxation.

Furthermore, persistence still brings more advantages to youngsters than its drawbacks. Especially when it helps young people live meaningful lives. Through their determination and high focus on childhood, they will better understand their strengths and weaknesses, along with appreciating their sacrifices and opportunities and developing a positive perspective on facing challenges.

As the above discussed and argued, encouraging children to work hard to accomplish their ultimate goal may worsen both their physical and mental health, yet, it is beneficial to them in becoming their better versions.