It is a widespread belief among some cultures that children are taught that everything is achievable if they put efforts on it. This essay will suggest that trying hard may benefit children from practical point of view and undesirable outcomes are the primary disadvantage.

Some elderly people or parents usually encourage youngsters to do their best in order to achieve the desired results. The reason behind this suggestion is that these efforts will definitely provide children with practical skills which may advantage them later in life. In other words, the acquired practical knowledge can be implemented in future career or study pursuits by these children. For example, teachers mostly motivate students to study hard in order to achieve best results in exams or to have a bright career in the future. Therefore, such urge and motivation given to children may be advantageous for their practical life ahead.

Despite this advantage, there are some drawbacks that are sometimes ignored. That means that the outcomes of the toil may not always be positive, and children may encounter a failure at the end. Consequently, this failure, instead of inspiring young people, will make them disillusioned and demotivated leading to the sense of unwillingness to try again. For instance, various competitions have the sole goal which is to choose the winner, and all the other participating children will manifestly be disappointed after trying hard enough to triumph except for the only winner. Thus, convincing children that they can attain anything if they try hard enough may adversely lead to despair when the final results are undesirable.

In conclusion, some cultures teach children to put many efforts for the attainment of any aim. Although this phenomenon can actually progress these children’s practical knowledge, the consequences of potential negative outcomes should not be overlooked.