Some employers of er their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs,

believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more ef active at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Employers are always seeking ways to enhance their employee's productivity and subsidizing healthy pursuits maybe one way of achieving this. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will discuss now.

On the one hand, it might be said that if workers are fitter and less stressed, working time will be more efficient, leading to higher levels of output and service. Furthermore, the work-life balance of the staff will hopefully be improved, because their leisure time will be more fulfilling. this may even be more motivating than pay increments, perks, or financial rewards such as bonuses or incentives which maybe hard to meet. Finally, feeling healthier may lead to better job satisfaction which in itself a motivating factor.

Conversely, the problem with such leisure-based subsidies is that their efficacy is virtually impossible to quantify. For example, with target-related payments, employers can at least see whether the objectives are reached or not. it might also be said that, if this budget was spent on (for instance) on the job training or day release programs, the employees would achieve better career progression and have better job prospects. These matters are all easier to measure, especially in performance reviews and appraisals, and may even help to reduce the risk of redundancy if the company restructures, downsizes, or outsources its workforce.

Overall, it seems that, while health-related subsidies are superficially attractive, the lack of measurability is a substantial drawback. Spending funds on ongoing training would appear to be a better use of company or Human Resources budgets.