Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Foreign language becomes a door for children to access and update knowledge from around the world. Developing foreign languages for children brings tremendous benefits. Some experts believe that elementary school is the best place for children to learn foreign languages to compare with secondary school. I firmly believe that there is a defensible basis for this argument.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the drawbacks of considerably outweight its benifits. The main reason for believe this is that learning two languages at an early age could affect children ability to learn their mother tongue properly and they might get confused by learning many different languages with different grammar and pronunciation at the same time. One good illustration of this is there are many children who have difficulty acquiring languages and expressing language, especially those who speak two languages in the same conversation. Moreover, it will increase burden on children's learning because thay have to learn lots of lesson.

In parallel, I personally side with this idea.In the fact that young children learn a language faster because children aged from 4 to 10 will be the most suitable age for them to study foreign languages. They are enthusiastic to explore and learn new things, they can pick up the pronunciation better and enjoy copying and learning through games. Furthermore, primary learning programs have less subjects and primary students so children have more time to study and practice foreign languages. For instance, children start to learn some new subjects, such as Chemistry, Biology and History in Secondary school. The more subjects they have, the less time to learn a foreign language. Therefore, children should learn a foreign language at primary school, instead of secondary school.

In conclusion, learning foreign languages at primary school instead of secondary is both beneficial and harmful. On balance, I tent to believe, primary school is the best time for children to learn foreign languages