More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries.

Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

There is an irrefutable fact that students tend to choose to study abroad to attend university and colleges these days. Some experts believe that there are huge benefits in studying in a foreign country, I firmly believe that there is a defensible basis for this argument.

On the one hand, people argue that the drawbacks of education abroad considerably outweigh its benifits. Firstly, overseas students are prone to depression when living away from home alone. For instance, there will be days when they are too busy to cook, always relying on noodles to prevent hunger. Moreover, foreign students have to endure the nostalgia for family, close friends whenever they encounter difficulties or get sick. Secondly, the language barriers and cultural differences make students bullied. This may lead to the isolation from the community and might cause a failure in studying.

On the other hand, I personally side with this idea. The advantages of study abroad are more significant than the downsides. The main reason for believe this is that overseas students become more independent by living alone in foreign country. For example, without the help of relatives living in your home country, you will definitely have to take care of everything from housing, eating, traveling, living and all the problems that arise in the life. You are trained in adapting to different situations to create foundations and experiences when you step into real life. Another positive aspect of this is you have the opportunity directly approach to advanced civilization, culture and society, especially be able to receive progressive and modern education.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the preference of studying in a foreign country has its own benefits and drawbacks. Despite all the disadvantages, I believe that it has more advantages for students study at colleges and universities in foreign countries.