In spite of the fact that teaching foreign languages usually happens at secondary school, accordingly to some experts, children should start with it already at primary school. The aim of this issue is to weigh the pros and cons of this statement and try to analyze both points of view.

Learning a language is a complicated process which becomes harder over the years. It is no surprise therefore that adults find it more difficult to become fluent in another language, which not only involves learning new words but also developing the accent. Adults aiming to speak like a native, have to exercise the muscles of their mouth to be able to pronounce sounds that maybe are not present in their native language. Additionally, memorizing words can be a demanding task in terms of time and energy. Other issues, like job, family duties, health problems should also be taken into account. On the contrary, those roadblocks seem to not exist for children, who are able to absorb vocabulary, sounds, and accent like a sponge. What requires sometimes years of sweat and fatigue for an adult, it is no more than a joke for a child still unable to walk. Following this fact, many experts urge therefore foreign language teaching already in primary school. Doing so, the process is quick and reliable and children do not have to struggle with dictionaries and word boxes to get familiarity with a new language.

Finding drawbacks in this approach is quite hard. Actually, there are no reasons why children should not become able to speak diverse languages. In a world that has become smaller and smaller over the past decades, where globalization is an irreversible phenomenon that has narrowed continents and mentalities, knowing several languages can represent an edge over competitors and help to find a good job position.

Considering that for a child the whole process is practically free from obstacles and can be accomplished with a striking velocity, there is virtually no point in delaying it.