While still too many areas of the world are plagued with famine and drougth, in many developed countries we are witnessing an extreme waste of food. In this essay I will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and propose some solutions to tackle it.

Food has always been a primary need for humans. Our ancestors made a living by hunting and fishing, which made it quite a challenge to gain enough food to feed a family group. Human history is scattered by famine ensued by wars, poor health conditions and lack of technology. Only in the last century man has been able to produce food in an unprecedented quantity, enough to feed billions of individuals. There is no doubt that the technological development in farming, food processing and storing represents a giant breakthrough for mankind. Virtually no one on Earth should suffer from shortage of food or get diseases caused by malnutrition. Sadly, this continues to happen, for many reasons.

Inequal distribution and extremely discounted crop prices are the major implications for the waste of food. Developed countries have the potential to feed the whole planet. Thanks to the introduction of genetical modifications, high-tech and other cutting edge technologies, farming has boosted its productivity and it is theoretically well equipped to face the cahallenge to feed eight billion human beings. Unfortunately, the food surplus is simply thrown away while thousands would need it desperatly. Governments should take actions to tackle this issue and support organizations that send aids overseas for the needy.

It would be too easy, however to hold only government and politicians.responsible for this scandal. Everyone could be instrumental in cutting down on wating food by taking some simple actions. First, people should avoid to buy excessive quantity of food, especiall when it comes to life-short good that go bad quickly, like meat, eggs or milk. All of these aliments contain valuable minerals and vitamins people affected by malnutrition urgently need. Secondly, it would be a good idea to prepare meals with leftovers, that by the way, can be also taken away from restaurants. It is the perfect combination to cook nutritious dishes, save money and reduce waste.

To sum up, I think that the main reasons why people throw away food for mainly two reasons. Industrialization allows to produce enormous quantity of food, which makes prices plummet. Secondly, people should buy just the food they need and try to make proper use of leftovers.