Advertising has been playing a major in our society for many decades. In countries which base their economy on capitalism, advertising has become the fuel that pushes consumption and allows the engines to run at full speed. It is no surprise therefore that sometimes advertisment experts bet on an alluring campaing to wake the interest of the public and, coinsequently, to gain new customers.

The opinion is divided when it comes to weighing up the opportunity of provocative adverts: some affirm that in a civilized society there is no place for such a provocation, while others tned to have a more flexible attitude toward this type of adds. From my point of view, the first thing to do is to define what provocative actually means. According to the vocabulary something that is provocative, is nothing more that something that acts as a stimulus or an incetement. Following this definition, the word in itself does not contain a negative meaning, so that using a provocative ad can be completely rightfu given that the priority of advertising is to publicy a product to sell it to the largest numer of customers.

In addtion to this consideration, we should also notice that there is hard work behind an apparently simple ad. To reach its goal an ad should be concise, tailored to the need of the customers or be able to create needs, a goal that by the way is not that easy to accomplish. In order to strike the attention of potential customers, publicists turn to unconventional strategies. For example, in 2018 Nike launhed a campaign featuring the american quarterback Colin Kaepernick who at the time was known for protesting over the American national anthem during football games, by refusing to stand up for the anthem in remonstration over the treatment of ethnic minorities. The ad was plastered on bllboards all over America with the tag line “Believe in something. Even if it means sacrificing everything".

Many viewers became angry at him, considering his act as anti american and consequently regarded Nike as anti patriotic as well. Although this sparked a lot of controversies in the Internet the company reportedly made over 6 billion dollars in sales.

To summarize, aüprovocative advertising plays a crucial role in fueling the way people make their decisions and when it comes to boosting the sales of a product a provocative ad can turn out to be a succesful strategy to adopt.