Opinion is still divided when it comes to speaking about the rule of the government in our daily life. Some believe that the government should play a minor role in the life of citizens while other on the other hand support the idea that the state should have more power. One of the most delicate issues of last decaded revolve around healthcare and educational system. In many developed countries, like in Europe, citizens subsidize the healthcare and educationa spending with taxation. Other countries follow an alternative route, like the US, adopting a system where much of the costs have to be payd by the citizens on their own. Both of these systems have pros and cons and in this essay I will briefly examine both of them and explain why I think that government should provide free healthcare and education.

In the US most of the citizens have an health insurance which cover most of the common diseases. But financial hardships can follow following loss of job or more serious illness like cancer. In this case an individual has to struggle to gain access to medical treatment and in many cases people cannot afford them. Although the US has the best medical centers in the world and the most advanced technologies, still too many people are excluded from basic medical care. Governments programs like MediCare aims to tackle this problem, so that in this case the state has provided a sound solution to a serious problem who has been affecting mostly poor and weak citizens. Furthermore, students have to pay high college tuition so that students coming from less well off families have to take loans from a bank and get into debts.

In Europe usually the government plays a crucial role in allocating resources for the healthcare and educational system, so that medical treatments are accessible for all citizens with no regard of income and universities also offer the possibility to free access if students come from low-income families. This approach is to me the most situable because no one has left behind. Tough moments, financial difficulties, diseases or unemployment can always come up over the years. In those moment is therefore essential that basic rights like education and medical care are granted. For those reasons I strongly believe that the goverment should be more involved in the life of the citizens, by providing them efficient and affordable cures and by offering a decent educational system, so that nobody cannot be discharged from an hospital or forced to drop out of college because too ill or too poor.