Thanks to globalization and the rise of Internet stores, shopping has become over the years more affordable and accessible to large part of the population. Especially among young adults, shopping has become more than a basic need, it has turned to a sort of leisure activity. The aim of this essay is to find out the reasons behind this trend and consider the pros and cons of it.

These days shopping has made in our daily lives like probably no other activity in the past. The last decade has witnessed the rise of giant companies like Amazon which offers virtually everything on the Internet. Globalization has made also possible to purchase items from all over the world at relatively cheap prices. Stores and malls are cropping up in every city, alluring buyers with shining shop windows, cutting edge fully automated appliances, and the fastest computers. Additionally, competition among sellers results in massive discounts, which aims to attract a wide number of customers. Given that, it is no surprise that shopping has become a concept going beyond the need of purchasing essential items for a living. Once traditionally dedicated to excursions or movies, Saturday afternoons are nowadays mostly spent in crowded malls in search of the latest computer game or the cheapest bag.

Although there is no doubt that shopping has a beneficial impact on the economy, on the other side this trend raises some concerns as well. Behind the glossy shop windows and the glistening lights, thrives a dark world made of dissatisfaction, vanity, and greediness that young adults try to compensate by buying objects. Free time should be spent to improve ourselves,cultivate hobbies or learn something new.

In conclusion, besides the beneficial impact on the economy, shopping should be regarded more as a need than a leisure activity. This goes in particular for young adults, since they represent the future and should invest their free time in the most effective way.