Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language from an early ages is thought to have better influence on children. While there are possible disadvantages of the trend, I believe the advantages are worthier. In this essay I will discuss both sides of the issue.

There are many reasons why children should acquainted with a new languages as soon as posible. Firstly, being multilingual means they could have a great opportunity to broaden their knowledge. When a child acquiring a new language, they possibly have a great chance to discover related culture. Thus, it will improve their adaptability by creating an open mind to embrace differences between cultures and customs. Moreover, children can be better prepared for their future career as they learn a foreign language at a young age. In that case, they would have natural abilitities to pick up the language and might become more proficent than peers, which means they would have more opportunities in such a competitive labour market.

On the other hand, there are still some downsides of this trend. Financial condition is one of the biggest issues faced many families whose child attended in a foreign language courses. Tuition fees for a long process of language learning could be unaffordable for some families. Consequently, it will put a heavy burden on children parents. Mixing languages is another common problem that a multilingual child could have to deal with. Those who have to learn both their mother tonge and the target language concurrently might forgot a word and borrow it from another language, or even use two languages in the same sentences. This serious mistake would cause misunderstanding, and sometimes create language barrier between speakers and listeners. In fact, this problem could be fixed when a child get older.

To sum up, there are still disadvantages while a children acquiring a foreign language, but the advantages are more significant. I would predicted that this trend could favored families with children in the next 5 years.