Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or

experience.

Some educationalists have suggested that a foreign language should be taught to students when they start their primary school education rather than at secondary education level. In my opinion, however, while starting to learn a foreign language at an early age may cause some undesirable effects on the learners, its significant benefits are undeniably huge.

On the one hand, I believe that a teaching foreign language to primary school students may lead to unpleasant consequences. It is because many youngsters have been assigned to learn and achieved high scores in multiple subjects, which they may have no capacity to tackle effectively in the same period. Consequently, they might fail some courses which can destroy their confidence in studying. Even worse, they may lose their interest in learning at school. These outcomes are undesirable for not only the children themselves but also for their family and society as a whole.

On the other hand, I can safely say that that picking up some knowledge of a foreign language at such a young age can bring about obvious benefits. Take English language learning in my country for example. Those students who have studied English since their primary school age do much better on English as part of the entrance exam to college or university than those who started to learn the language later. In other English language tests like IELTS or TOEFL, there are also huge differences in scores between the two groups of students. Therefore, if parents are concerned about their children’s language learning, they can let them study a foreign language at the beginning of primary education. This way, young children can enjoy great benefits, helping them succeed more later in both their academic life as well as their career path than their peers.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that even though young children may find it difficult to deal with many subjects at primary schools including foreign language learning in their curriculum, the benefits leading to their future successes outweigh the challenges.