Some individuals feel that working from home, while of benefit to employers, is actually a drawback foe employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, working from home has become more and more prevalent all over the world due to the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic. Some people believe that working from home might put employers at disadvantage while employers gain more advantages from it. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion.

It is undoubted that working from home helps bosses cut back on costs related to maintaining working offices. In fact, companies have to spend a great deal of money on rental costs, power and water bills, office facilities, and equipment per month. Therefore, working from home means that employers could save up these costs, contributing to their higher income.

On the other hand, employees could have difficulties in working alone. Firstly, some employees, especially fresh staff, usually do not have a standard workspace. With low salaries from their entry place, they are just enough money to rent a small apartment and even work in their bed. Furthermore, as a fresh staff, they may need guidance from senior colleagues and managers or even interaction among staff to get motivated to work. Gradually, these hindrances cause pressure on them, adversely affecting their physical and mental health.

However, employers may find the management hard when their employees work from home. Through online meetings or conferences, they hardly monitor and instruct their staff to improve their productivity. In contrast, some employees, particularly senior staff who feel accustomed to their work, can gain benefits from having flexible schedules. They not only work at home but also spend time with their family, take care of their children, and have time to enjoy themselves.

In conclusion, working from brings employers more merits and fewer drawbacks than employees. Therefore, companies should listen to their staff’s opinions and adjust policies to ensure that their staff feels satisfied and motivated to work better and contribute to companies.