In some large cities, people have to pay a fee when they drive their cars into the city centre, in a policy to reduce the number of cars in the city.

Give reasons in support of and opposing this traffic congestion policy, and give your own opinion.

Traffic has become a major problem in most metropolitan around the world. The city centre and central areas are generally the most congested and they give rise to various new issues. In order to tackle this ever growing problem, the government has come up with a policy of charging vehicles when they drive into the city centre at certain times. In this essay we will look at both the positive and negative views and present our opinion.

With congestion charges in place, people will start using public transport and this will lead to fewer vehicles on the street and reduce traffic congestion significantly. It will have great positive effects on our environment and will help cities to reduce pollution. The money raised from congestion charge can be spent on other form of public transport and increasing alternatives to driving.

On the negative side, over dependency on public transport will increase the burden on an already stretched infrastructure and that may lead to fatal accidents. Congestion charge will encourage people to visit out of town shopping centres and business will suffer losses.

In the end, I would like to say that even though congestion charge is a good initiative, it is not the perfect solution and instead of charging vehicles that enter the city, the government should launch campaigns to promote the idea of car pooling or alternatively promote other modes of transport like cycling.