Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees while others have free entry Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages

Although there are some museums that charge nothing for entry, people still have to pay admission fees for many museums. In my opinion, by charging for admission, museums can use that funds to make necessary improvements, otherwise, it is impossible to maintain valuable arts.

Charging money from people for their entry into museums can have a great number of benefits. The most obvious one is that it can be used to enhance museums, ranging from the conditions inside to security. Firstly, many museums show unique arts from different centuries, so such arts need extra care to preserve and the costs are expensive. Without the funds, such a thing is impossible. Secondly, museums need to be equipped with state-of-the-art security systems, such as surveillance cameras and a well-trained security team because most criminals and thieves are keeping an eye on priceless arts to sell in black markets and to make easy money. Therefore, museums need to have a large amount of funding for those security measures.

On the other hand, charging admission fees to people also has disadvantages. One possible effect is that it becomes a barrier between the public and museums. In other words, as people are obsessed with possessions and only value material things, they might not spend their money on going to museums to just feel arts, which cannot be possessed. Another problem is that such fees discourage poor people to go to museums since they have to struggle even in their everyday lives. As a result, the poor will think arts are only for the rich, which is definitely a negative consequence.

In conclusion, despite the negative effects, I believe that charging money for admission to museums is the only solution to well maintain unique age-old arts.