some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.

what are the advantages and disadvantages for children of having a large number of toys?

It is often assumed that children need to have a great number of playthings because entertainment is an important part of childhood. I am personally inclined to believe that this popular notion has its own positive and negative points.

To begin with, the idea of praising children and buying them toys, especially every time they have an achievement at school, has many proponents. Most of the objects children these days plays with are puzzles, and they provide amusement for offspring and also contribute to children’s education, which reduces the burden on parents. Having countless toys would be justified on condition that they vary in terms of creating a situation that the child has to have more physical activity, leading to bettering physical health and strengthening their muscles. For example, a trampoline, which is highly valued as a gift, can be considered as a toy and encourages a lot of mobility.

However, there seems to be some drawbacks when a child has a lot of playthings. Firstly, so exciting and entertaining the playtime is that mostly there is no time for study and that can hinder the student’s progress. Secondly, designed to be played indoors, some toys reduce the mobility and might have adverse effects on physical well-being, increasing the risk of becoming obese. Thirdly, as some parents cannot afford a lot of toys, those children who have numerous objects might be considered as spoilt by their playmates either in their neighborhood or at school. Finally, too much exposure to the games can encourage the child to be self-centered and insensitive to others, which, in my view, may isolate him or her in the future.

Overall, provided that toys encourage more mental and physical activities, they can have a great influence on our next generation, and I would therefore maintain that children should only have enough of them as the number of objects defines the time needed, and sometimes, countless toys can have detrimental social impacts.