Some parents think that advertisements are misleading for children, while advertisers claim that they provide knowledge. Discuss both view.

In today’s world, there is a public debate related to advertisements. Some parents believe that advertisements are misleading for children. However, advertisers share the view that they provide knowledge. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

To begin with, some people are of the view that advertisements are confusing for children. The most frequent factor contributing to this view is the erroneous content regarding advertisements. To clarify, when seeing advertisements, children might not fully understand the figurative sense of these ads. Moreover, they are just curious to mimic the action as the advertisements showed. This is demonstrated by the following example. The advertisements in regard to Fami milk shows that after drinking a bottle of this band milk, a man is able to break the stone table only by using his hand without any tools. The reason to support this case is that consuming this bottle of milk helps him increase the amount of canxi in his bones, which allows him to own the vigour. After watching this advertisement, my brother always made an effort to do like this but was not able to succeed like his man did. For this reason, it is obvious that children are not able to understand the wholly content which the advertisements want to convey through an exaggeration story.

On the other hand, some advertisers argue that this advertisement supplies people with knowledge. To put it in another way, advertisements also provide necessary information for children. One example to support this view is that the advert for Colgate toothpaste tells children that they must brush their teeth twice daily to protect their teeth as well as their health. As a result, it is apparent that this information provided is good knowledge for children.

Take everything into consideration, we may draw a conclusion that advertisements have both negative and positive impact on children in some specific cases, which is the hiding message and the knowledge. However, I think that advertisements bring the plus sides to children rather than the minuses because of the knowledge they cater to.