In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family.

Why might people want to do this?

Is it a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that concerns of different people have changed a lot in these days. Many hobbies and interests have risen up. One of odd interests -that is becoming more popular nowadays- is searching into one's family tree and looking for relatives roots. Of course, there are many reasons and motivations behind this phenomenon. Although it may be as a sort of time wasting, I think it's essential to know your roots well.

Let's start talking about why people tend to search into their family trees. First of all, I think the most important cause is looking for hidden pride they don't know about. This is because we live in the era of social media and our world is like a small village. So, it would be an honor to discover that your roots is related to a previous king or a famous personality. For example, I have a friend who spent about two months searching into his roots until he discovered that he has common relatives with king Farouk who was the king of Egypt 70 years ago. Thanks to this, he became famous and got a promotion in his job. Secondly, Having common roots with important persons helps you to progress more and get promotions as I mentioned in the previous example.

About my opinion, I think it would be useful to know your history and how your previous family members lived. This might teach you that life is full of ups and downs. Therefore, you will be motivated to achieve more progress to make your family proud of you in the future. Another positive sign is being closer to more people around you if you discover that your family trees are related in some parts.

On the other hand, there are many drawbacks to this rising phenomenon. One of its disadvantages is it may create social divisions between people. This is because persons with roots related to kings or presidents could have sensation of grandiosity and superiority over the others. This will lead to social hazards on the long term. Moreover, it would be time wasting to spend months looking for a previous pride instead of making a new one for the coming generation.

To conclude, I agree that it's important to remember our family members and know them well. However, we should concentrate more on new achievements to make our sons proud of us.