In some parts of the world, people try to find one's own family history. why do people do this, does this have positive or negative impact?

In the following essay, we will look at the impact history and older civilisation has on today's world. The history of the world is beautiful and worth reading and knowing, but it is not just fairy tales and sunshine, there are some cruel things which have happened and been done by us humans. In this essay we will look at both the positive and negative impact it has on us, and in my opinion, even though there are negative points it is worth knowing.

Starting from the positive impacts, knowing and learning about once history teaches a person about their past. How their ancestor used to live and what struggles they had, could teach a lot to a person. People who are adopted can learn about their true heritage, and get to know their biological parents which can give them a new sense of life. They can learn about their culture and this essentially preserves our customs and the way we live our life.

But history has a dark side too, getting to know that your ancestors were among the bad side of history can have a dreadful impact on people. Especially for someone who finds that their ancestors were involved in cruel practices such as slavery and racism or their ancestors fought for Nazi Germany. Such revealing can be very scary and can have a very deep lasting impact on a person.

In conclusion, after looking at both positive and negative impacts I feel that it is important for people to learn about their history. Even though it is evil, the deeds of our ancestors don't define us and should push us to do more good work in today's world.