Some people argue that holding sporting events is beneficial to countries’ development. However,

other people hold the opposite opinion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some adopt a view that holding sports events does a great job in boosting the country’s development. Neverthless, the objectors argue that it could bring about many problems. In this essay, justifications for both schools of thoughts will be discussed, followed by my opinion.

On the one hand, it is noteworthy that sports events contribute significantly to local tourism industry. Studies have shown that successful organization of sports events, especially the ones on global scale, typically the Olympic Games and the World Cup is often accompanied by the upsurge in the number of foreign tourists. Accordingly, some domestic industries like catering, accommodation, transport and entertainment are promoted in leaps and bounds to satisfy the requirements of more visitors. Therefore, it will be a mistake to overlook the fact that holding sports events exerts conducive influences on host countries’ development.

On the other hand, the opponents may argue that it may be a waste of national financial budget to build facilities just for short-term use. According to studies, although some major sports events may attract a large number of visitors and increase tourism revenue, host countries have to invest huge financial sources in building new sports facilities and infrastructure, such as stadiums with larger capacities. However, when these sports events end, not all governments make good use of those new facilities, and many stadiums become unused. Obviously, this is a misspending, and the gains obtained from building such new facilities may not outweigh the losses caused.

Taking all of the above-mentioned facts into account, it is my opinion that host countries can benefit from holding sports events because of not only the economic gains but also the opportunity to communicate with the world. Hence, holding sports competitions will impose positive impacts on the country’s development in a long run.