Some people argue that it is more important to have an enjoyable job than to earn a lot of money. Others disagree and think that a good salary leads to a better life.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The workforce is motivated by a number of factors. For some an attractive salary is the prime reason for working whilst others take into consideration other factors such as a good working environment, perks, flexible working hours, co-operative colleagues and job satisfaction. Undoubtedly a high salary results in a better standard of living but considering that workers spend most of their hours at work, often this is not enough to keep them satisfied.

In many cases, students study a subject that interests them with the logic that they will end up working in a profession that suits their character and ambitions. Being creative at work as opposed to carrying out monotonous tasks means that a person will be more productive and happy which in turn might be profitable for the company. On the other hand, workers who are miserable at work irrespective of their high salary are likely to transfer these negative feelings home.

Naturally, the first benefit that is negotiated when seeking employment is a good salary. Everybody needs to survive and prosper financially especially during periods of economic crises. Most workers are willing to put up with being unsatisfied in the workplace when they earn a good package.

Ideally, the best situation would be job satisfaction accompanied by a high salary, but unfortunately this is not always the case. What a person chooses depends on their ideals and what they view as important. People who put money above all else will only be interested in a high salary while those who value enjoyment more place pleasure at the forefront. Personally, I believe job satisfaction is equally important.