Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while others believe that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, and a permanent job is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that job security is not as important as how satisfied we feel with what we do, whereas others believe that we should do a job that frees us from unemployment stress and ensures we have a stable income. I am personally in favour of the viewpoint of the first group.

People who like the idea of doing a permanent job say that, in today’s cut-throat labour market where thousands of new graduates face unemployment annually, staying in the same job is a much safer choice than switching jobs to find job satisfaction. The combination of the increasingly competitive job market and the rising cost of living means that job security has become the most important consideration for job seekers. Many people experience temporary unemployment after quitting their previous jobs to look for new ones that offer a higher level of job satisfaction. For those who are primary breadwinners, this is a risky decision.

Despite the above arguments, I feel that we should never stop looking for jobs that make us happy and fulfilled. I personally believe that no matter how competitive the labour market is, there are always enough jobs for everyone. Spending several months or even a year seeking a rewarding job is much better than spending a lifetime stuck in a job that we are reluctant to do just because it is safe and stable. My grandfather, for example, has always regretted not following the photography career that he would have loved to have had; instead, he chose to be a teacher because of a stable monthly paycheck.

In conclusion, although some argue that a secure job is more important than a satisfying job, I am of the opinion that we should always look for a job that brings us happiness and fulfilment rather than stability.